The short overview of coming posts

The short overview of coming posts

Hi one and all!

So today’s post will in all its simplicity be an overview of the nearest futures featured posts. Just because I like to keep you guys slightly in the loop.

The next post that will see the light of day will be arriving within the next week. It will continue the current pattern of my posts and deal with the theme of horror in games, but this time it will be with the scariest game I have played to date. It is called Dread Halls and is as such quite a simple game – escape the dungeon. However, I played it with an Oculus Rift, which is a pair of glasses that creates a virtual environment. This was a part of what made it so scary. Curious? Well stay tuned for updates, on either Facebook, or even better, via mail subscription, which is a great service for you, and a help for me. Find out what makes me look like this:

Dread Halls
Dread Halls

The above mentioned post will also conclude my horror adventures for some time, as I turn my scope towards games that build more on narrative. In this case, it is a game called Story about my Uncle. It is a great platform style adventure (No scary monsters here, I swear). This will be exciting as I may even come up with a new way of presenting my post. Not decided upon yet. Nonetheless, it will be a close look at the games story, and a look at the importance of narrative, something I have touched upon before, but is ever relevant and interesting.

A Story about my Uncle
A Story about my Uncle

The last pre-planned post is on the more theoretical side of things. As video games are still a comparatively recent form of media, the methods for analysing them are also not quite agreed upon yet. It is not an easy task finding out how to appropriately approach a video game when analysing it, as so many factors come into play during the creation of the game – so many various forms of media. I will therefore attempt to approach this problem by categorising the games in such a manner that further detailed analysis can afterwards be applied to each game depending on category and type. More on that in a few weeks (and when I actually have a model and method figured out properly).

Source: http://kotaku.com/5911869/how-to-play-video-games
Source: http://kotaku.com/5911869/how-to-play-video-games

That is all for now. Hope you could use this overview, and look forward to having you back for my up and coming posts!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

